The George Blog – Wine et al & Comments

Return to Recent Topics
Re-caulking Dazy posted in The Odd Word
Addition/Extension posted in The Odd Word
Deben 4-Tonner posted in Design
Deben 4¾-Tonner – New Design posted in Design
Sapphire 27 posted in Design
Server Problems posted in News
A sad day for the UK posted in The Odd Word
Traditional Clinker Plans for Design 073 now available. posted in Design
RealCADD posted in The Odd Word
More 165 Instructions and drawings posted in Design
Categories
Design (10 most recent)
The Odd Word (10 most recent)
News (10 most recent)
Recipes (10 most recent)
Archives
Design (Archives)
The Odd Word (Archives)
News (Archives)
Recipes (Archives)
Favourite Blogs & Sites
The British Humanist Association
Richard Dawkins
The Freethinker
Mercy For Animals

Wine et al

It's odd the questions you get asked when you are a vegan-vegetarian. One of the most frequent goes something like:

"Of course I suppose you don't drink (alcohol – wine – beer – whatever beverage is being offered)?"

Well ... yes ... I do! I drink quite a lot of wine and enjoy it immensely. Now wine isn't necessarily always strictly vegan – in fact it is seldom vegan. White wines very often use egg or milk products or isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish) as finings (to clear the wine). And reds tend to use crushed up beetles, bone gelatin or dried blood.

Even beer need not be vegan – best British bitter is often fined with isinglass. Guinness is not vegan ..... (now there's a blow!). Campari contains cochineal (basically ground up beetles). Not all vodka is vegan... and the list goes on.

So life has to be a compromise. The line between vegan and non vegan is not absolute (honey for example?). We all make our choices.

When I can, I buy vegan wine. At out local supermarket there is a decent red – "Our Daily Red" it's called - a nice name. It's organic, vegan and sulphite free. And it's $7.99 a bottle!

When I can't, then I drink and enjoy a non-vegan wine. I will tend towards reds, because if I have to make a choice, I would go for ground up beetles rather than egg or milk products – egg and milk production causing so very much animal misery and hardship. One hopes that the beetles are killed quickly and relatively painlessly .....

The quantities of animal product per bottle is of course quite small. But think of the total number of bottles produced. And so many things can contain animal products that it is hard to think about it all the time:

Sugar, breakfast cereal, potato chips – all can (but don't necessarily) contain animal products. Some 'E' numbers are animal: 120, 542, 631, 901, 904, 920 certainly are. 101, 101a, 153 ,203, 213, 227, 270, 282, 302, 322, 325, 326, 327, 333, 341a, 341b, 341c, 404, 422, 430, 431, 432, 433, 434, 435, 436, 470, 471, 472a, 472b, 472c, 472d ,472e, 473, 474, 475, 476, 477, 478, 481, 482, 483, 491, 492, 493, 494, 495, 570, 572, 627, 635 can be of animal derivation.

So it's a mine field! My answer is to be content with the choices I make. They are my choices, no one else's. And it's myself that I have to answer to.



Comments

This article does not have any comments.

Post a comment

You need to Login to post a comment. If you are not a member you can Register.